Zoo

                                                                                            By Anthony Browne

                                                                                      A story we studied for English.

 

    What is the role of a zoo? And what is the relationship between man and animals? Below is a recreation of an                              orangutan enclosure and a diary entry from the POV of an Orangutan entering it for the first time.

 

A large steel gate creaks open. I peer up ahead seeing a blinding light with a wonderful view coming into vision. I carefully step foot out of the container, my long hair dragging along the metallic floor onto the grassy plain. The sounds of chirping surround me. I haven’t listened to this noise for a while. A gust of wind brings a satisfying aroma into my nostrils, giving me a sense of joy. I lay under a tree, I feel like I’m in heaven.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *